Malaysia Proud Owner of Four Heritage Sites

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Malaysia is now the proud owner of four World Heritage Sites recognised by the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation’s (UNESCO) World Heritage List, as reported by the Borneo Post Online. The new addition belongs to the Archaeological Heritage of the Lenggong Valley (AHLV) in Perak.

The National Heritage Department said that the Lenggong Valley contained artefactual evidence in the open air and cave sites spanning all the periods of hominid history outside Africa. Apparently, the series of caves and open air sites along the Perak River in the Lenggong Valley were an exceptional testimony to occupation of the area, particularly during the Palaeolithic era, but during the Neolithic and Bronze age periods from 1.83 million years ago to 1, 7000 years ago. These sites are said to represent one of the longest records of early man in a single locality in the world.

The other three Heritage Sites in Malaysia are the historic cities of Melaka and George Town along the Straits of Melaka, Gunung Mulu National Park in Sarawak and Kinabalu Park in Sabah.

"ExpatGo welcomes and encourages comments, input, and divergent opinions. However, we kindly request that you use suitable language in your comments, and refrain from any sort of personal attack, hate speech, or disparaging rhetoric. Comments not in line with this are subject to removal from the site. "


Click to comment

Most Popular

To Top