Countries Eligible for Driving License Conversion in M’sia

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Deputy Transport Minister Jelaing Mersat told Bernama that this was in line with the United Nations Conference on Road and Motor Transport, Geneva 1949 and 1968, in which all member countries recognised each other’s driving license.

According to the Minister, some of those applying to convert their foreign driving licenses were rejected because they did not meet the requirements set by the JPJ. Such as those involving visa and passport validity period, valid driving license, a translation of the driving license if it isn’t in English, verification of the driving license from the embassy of the issuing country or verification from the license’s issuing authority. Failure to complete the JPJ form with supporting documents with a coloured photo will also result in one’s application being rejected.

For those applying to convert their license, an annual fee of RM30 will be imposed for the license and a processing fee of RM20.

The countries eligible are: Australia, Iraq, Papua New Guniea, Belgium, Italy, France, Holland, Japan, Poland Brunei, German, Russia, China, Korea, Spain, Denmark, Laos, Singapore, Fiji, Libya, Switzerland, Philippines, Mauritius, Thailand, Finland, Egypt, Turky, Hong Kong, New Zealand, Taiwan, Iran and Nigeria.

Read more:

Register for free on

"ExpatGo welcomes and encourages comments, input, and divergent opinions. However, we kindly request that you use suitable language in your comments, and refrain from any sort of personal attack, hate speech, or disparaging rhetoric. Comments not in line with this are subject to removal from the site. "


Click to comment

Most Popular

To Top