The Eastern Sabah Safety Zone

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

The Eastern Sabah Safety Zone (ESSZONE) was launched by the Prime Minister of Malaysia, Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak, yesterday. The ESSZONE will cover the eastern districts; Kudat, Kota Marudu, Pitas, Beluran, Sandakan, Kinabatangan, Lahad Datu, Kunak, Semporna and Tawau.

The Chairman of the ESSZONE committee is Sabah Chief Minister, Datuk Seri Musa Aman.

Najib also said that ESSZONE will help safeguard the democratic rights and the democratic process pertaining to the people of Sabah and strengthen security, public order and prosperity in eastern Sabah.

Water villagers along the state’s east coast will be relocated further inland to stop illegal immigrants from settling there.

Seven new police stations will also be set up in ESSZONE.

Those living in ESSZONE areas will continue to live normal lives with the only difference being that there will be heightened security presence.

Six cabins serving as temporary command centre for ESSZONE have been set up at the Marine Police Complex in Lahad Datu. Five battalions of security forces are in ESSZONE and two more will be sent there soon.

ESSZONE was established following the intrusion by the Sulu intruders in Lahad Datu on 12 February 2013.


Picture from Photo credit: World Economic Forum / / CC BY-NC-SA


Read More:


What are your thoughts on this article? Let us know by commenting below. No registration required.

" ExpatGo welcomes and encourages comments, input, and divergent opinions. However, we kindly request that you use suitable language in your comments, and refrain from any sort of personal attack, hate speech, or disparaging rhetoric. Comments not in line with this are subject to removal from the site. "


Click to comment

Most Popular

To Top