Expat Interview: Paul Milbourne

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Name: Paul Milbourne
Home Country: Australia
Job/Industry: Senior Financial Adviser at Imperium Capital (Malaysia) & Financial Partners (Australia) –
Marital status: married

What brought you to Malaysia?
I wanted to spend 12 months in Asia to expand my career opportunities back in Australia and be 8 hours closer to the rest of the world. Five years later and I am still here, with a great little business.

What were your impressions of Malaysia before you came?
I really wasn’t too sure what to expect when I arrived, but what has changed since is my appreciation for metered cabs and 24-hour Nasi Kandar.

If you had to pick a sentence that describes Malaysia, what would it be?
“Have you taken your lunch?” – I love it as a substitute to saying hello.

What do you like most about living in Malaysia?
I enjoy the convenience of getting anything you need home delivered, I like having roti canai on the weekends, and I like playing Australian Rules Football.

What do you dislike about living in Malaysia?
I dislike the traffic Jams, rain at 4.30pm, and rats the size of dogs.

Name three places you would take an overseas visitor.
I would take them to see the fireflies in Kuala Selangor followed by dinner over the river, to Jalan Alor for a feast, and to the Petronas Twin Towers.

What do you like to do at the weekend?
I like having breakfast with my family, playing Aussie Rules, and enjoying a beer and catch up with friends.

What’s your favourite restaurant and bar in Malaysia?
Havana Bar in KL – it’s friendly and relaxed and there is always a friend in there to have a chat with.


Do you own property here?
No, my wife and I can’t agree on the right area.

Are most of your friends Malaysians or expats?
Most of my friends are expats as both my work and playing Aussie Rules are centred around expatriates. However, we are actively trying to grow our game in the local community.

What do you miss most about your home country?
Besides the obvious ones of friends and family, I miss watching Geelong during winter and going to the cricket and water skiing during the summer.


Read More:

What are your thoughts on this article? Let us know by commenting below. No registration required.

"ExpatGo welcomes and encourages comments, input, and divergent opinions. However, we kindly request that you use suitable language in your comments, and refrain from any sort of personal attack, hate speech, or disparaging rhetoric. Comments not in line with this are subject to removal from the site. "


Click to comment

Most Popular

To Top