The “Oscars” of the Sports World to be Held in Malaysia

In March this year, Kuala Lumpur will play host to the 15th edition of the Laureus World Sports Awards. This is the biggest awards ceremony honouring the best of the best in the sports world.

This is the first time the ceremony will be held in a Southeast Asian country since its inauguration in 2000 under the patronage of the late Nelson Mandela. The ceremony was initially supposed to take place in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, but was cancelled last month.

“I am delighted that the 2014 Awards is to be staged in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. It is an exciting development that Laureus is being held in South East Asia for the first time, enabling the Laureus message to be extended to a new part of the world,” said Edwin Moses, Chairman of the Laureus World Sports Academy.

“Of course this will be a very emotional occasion as it is the first Awards since the death of our patron, the great Nelson Mandela, and I am sure with the support of everyone in Kuala Lumpur it will be an awards ceremony to remember where we can salute today’s sporting heroes and pay tribute to President Mandela.”

The 15th edition of the Laureus World Sports Awards will be broadcast worldwide when it takes place on March 26. More details of the event will be announced soon.

Winners of the awards are selected by a 46-member jury. Past winners of the awards ceremony include Usain Bolt, Sebastian Coe, Novak Djokovic, Roger Federer, Alex Ferguson, Lewis Hamilton, Kelly Homes, Rafael Nadal, Pele, Steve Redgrave, Ronaldo, Michael Schumacher, Kelly Slater, Shaun White, Serena Williams and Zinedine Zidane.

Story and quote from: Yahoo Malaysia

Read more:

" ExpatGo welcomes and encourages comments, input, and divergent opinions. However, we kindly request that you use suitable language in your comments, and refrain from any sort of personal attack, hate speech, or disparaging rhetoric. Comments not in line with this are subject to removal from the site. "


Click to comment

Most Popular

To Top