Eight Major Roads in KL to be Renamed

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

A recent statement by Kuala Lumpur City Hall (DBKL) cites that eight roads in Kuala Lumpur will be renamed.

The eight roads will be named after those who served as head of state of Malaysia. The head of state in Malaysia is known as the Yang di-Pertuan Agong.

According to Youth and Sports Minister Khairy Jamaluddin, the renaming of the streets is in respect to these rulers. He defended this action by citing other roads that have been renamed without issues: Batu Road was renamed Jalan Tuanku Abdul Rahman in KL, and Lebuh Sungai Pinang was renamed Persiaran Karpal Singh in Penang.

The renaming process will start on November 26, 2014 with the installation of new road signs by DBKL.

This is the first renaming of major roads in the capital since DBKL came under fire in 2008 for renaming Jalan Alor, a famous 35-year old tourist spot for hawker foods, to Jalan Kejora. (Many Malaysian residents expressed anger about that. A week after that, it was reported that Jalan Alor would keep its name.)

The eight new road names are as follow:

  • Jalan Duta to Jalan Tunku Abdul Halim
  • Jalan Khidmat Usaha to Jalan Sultan Haji Ahmad Shah
  • Jalan Ipoh (between Jalan Segambut and Jalan Pahang intersections) to Jalan Sultan Azlan Shah
  • Persiaran Duta to Persiaran Tuanku Syed Sirajuddin
  • Jalan Khidmat Setia and Jalan Ibadah to Jalan Sultan Mizan Zainal Abidin
  • Lebuhraya Mahameru to Lebuhraya Sultan Iskandar
  • Persiaran Mahameru to Persiaran Tuanku Ja’afar
  • Jalan Semarak to Jalan Sultan Yahya Petra

Story and Source from: The Malay Mail and The Star

Read more:

Photo Credit: Panoramio

"ExpatGo welcomes and encourages comments, input, and divergent opinions. However, we kindly request that you use suitable language in your comments, and refrain from any sort of personal attack, hate speech, or disparaging rhetoric. Comments not in line with this are subject to removal from the site. "


Click to comment

Most Popular

To Top