The Sultan of Kelantan was just named as the next King of Malaysia

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

The Conference of Rulers has voted the Sultan of Kelantan, HRH Sultan Muhammad V, to take over as King, or Agong, once the current ruler’s term expires on 12th December 2016. HRH Sultan Muhammad is currently serving as Deputy Agong, a post he has held since 2011. On 13th December 2016, HRH Sultan Muhammad will be crowned as the 15th Agong of Malaysia, taking over from His Majesty Tuanku Abdul Halim Mu’adzam Shah of Terengganu.

According to a post on the Johor Southern Tiger’s Facebook page, where the crown prince of Johor regularly posts  comments, the Sultan of Johor was initially voted to be the next Agong by the Conference of Rulers, even though he was not next in the line of seniority. However, the Sultan declined the position to make way for the Sultan of Kelantan. According to the post, the Sultan of Johor insists to give “his utmost focus on the sovereignty of Johor and the Johor people”.

The rest of the rulers then voted for the Sultan of Kelantan to take up the mantel in December. So, HRH Sultan Muhammad V’s five year term will begin on 13th December 2016, and his younger brother, the Crown Prince of Kelantan, Tengku Muhammad Fa-iz Petra, will step up as the Sultan of Kelantan.

The next Deputy Agong will be the Sultan of Perak, HRH Sultan Nazrin Muizzuddin Shah, whose term also begins on 13th December 2016.

To understand the process of selecting an Agong, check out our article below:

"ExpatGo welcomes and encourages comments, input, and divergent opinions. However, we kindly request that you use suitable language in your comments, and refrain from any sort of personal attack, hate speech, or disparaging rhetoric. Comments not in line with this are subject to removal from the site. "


Kate Balsamo

Wonder if international schools will have to close? (Fingers crossed!)

U Angel Leah Grace

Ahahahaha..your comment is EPIC!

Nisha Gnasamoothy

Kjersti Lutnes yup new king !

Anushree Salena

Got a day off at last…

Click to comment

Most Popular

To Top