Airline Travel

Airport Autogate Facilities Extended to Nationals from 46 Countries

Autogates at klia2 Immigration Hall | Image Credit: KLIA Info and Facebook
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

The fast-clearance autogates should help reduce wait times at immigration counters at KLIA Terminals 1 and 2.

Starting June 1, international travellers from 46 countries will be able to use Malaysia’s autogates to enter the country. Last year, the government only allowed foreign visitors from 10 countries to use the electronic immigration clearance system, which was previously exclusive to Malaysians.

According to the New Straits Times, Home Minister Datuk Saifuddin Nasution Ismail announced the inclusion of an additional 36 low-risk countries on May 16. “This brings the total number of countries able to use the autogate facilities to 46,” he said, adding that the move aims to alleviate the long waiting lines at immigration, especially at KLIA Terminals 1 and 2.

He also noted that the autogate facility will be extended to all diplomatic staff working in Malaysia, including their family members.

Among the 36 newly added low-risk countries are all the European Union member states, as well as Bahrain, United Arab Emirates, Kuwait, Jordan, Oman, Qatar, Canada, China, Hong Kong, and Taiwan.

This is in addition to Australia, Brunei, Germany, Japan, South Korea, New Zealand, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, United States, and United Kingdom, which were allowed last year.

Cut your wait time dramatically by using the autogates | Image Credit: Discover/MCI

Here’s the full list of countries whose citizens may use Malaysia’s autogates:

  1. Australia
  2. Austria
  3. Bahrain
  4. Belgium
  5. Brunei
  6. Bulgaria
  7. Canada
  8. China
  9. Croatia
  10. Czech Republic
  11. Denmark
  12. Estonia
  13. Finland
  14. France
  15. Germany
  16. Greece
  17. Hong Kong
  18. Hungary
  19. Ireland
  20. Italy
  21. Japan
  22. Jordan
  23. Korea (South)
  24. Kuwait
  25. Latvia
  26. Lithuania
  27. Luxembourg
  28. Malta
  29. Netherlands
  30. New Zealand
  31. Oman
  32. Poland
  33. Portugal
  34. Qatar
  35. Republic of Cyprus
  36. Romania
  37. Saudi Arabia
  38. Singapore
  39. Slovakia
  40. Slovenia
  41. Spain
  42. Sweden
  43. Taiwan
  44. United Arab Emirates
  45. United Kingdom
  46. United States
Immigration autogates | Image Credit: Bernama

Saifuddin stated that 40 more autogate machines will be installed at the airports, bringing the total number of autogates to 98. “I am confident that this initiative will ease and accelerate the immigration clearance process, without compromising on security,” he said.

He added that the government’s decision to implement this measure is in response to the high influx of travellers into the country this year.

"ExpatGo welcomes and encourages comments, input, and divergent opinions. However, we kindly request that you use suitable language in your comments, and refrain from any sort of personal attack, hate speech, or disparaging rhetoric. Comments not in line with this are subject to removal from the site. "


Click to comment

Most Popular

To Top