ExpatGo Destination Guide: Selangor

Selangor, also known by its Arabic honorific, Darul Ehsan or ‘Abode of Sincerity’, is located on the west coast of Peninsular Malaysia and is bordered by Perak to the north, Pahang to the east, Negeri Sembilan to the south and the Strait of Malacca to the west. It surrounds the federal territories of Kuala Lumpur and Putrajaya.

The state capital is Shah Alam, however the first city in Selangor, and the royal capital is Klang. Another major urban centre is Petaling Jaya which was awarded city status on 20 June 2006.

Famous tourist attractions include the National Zoo (Zoo Negara) in Ampang Jaya, Sepang International Circuit, Sultan Salahuddin Abdul Aziz Shah Mosque and Sunway Lagoon in Bandar Sunway.


Recent articles on Selangor

More Posts
To Top