ExpatGo Destination Guide: Johor

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Johor, also known by its Arabic honorific, Darul Ta’zim, or ‘Abode of Dignity’, is the southernmost state of Peninsular Malaysia and one of the most developed states in the country.

The state capital is Johor Bahru while the royal city of the state is Muar (the old state capital is Johor Lama). Johor is bordered by Pahang to the north, Malacca and Negeri Sembilan to the northwest, and the Straits of Johor to the south, which separates Johor and the Republic of Singapore. The state also shares a maritime border with the Riau Archipelago.

Some of the key tourist attractions include: Sultan Abu Bakar State Mosque; Tebrau–Arulmigu Sri Rajakaliamman Hindu glass temple; Kota Tinggi waterfall and Pekan hot springs; riverside towns such as Kukup and Danga; islands including Seribuat Archipelago and Pulau Dayang; Mount Ophir; and theme parks like Legoland Malaysia, Hello Kitty Town and the Angry Birds Theme Park.


Recent articles about Johor

"ExpatGo welcomes and encourages comments, input, and divergent opinions. However, we kindly request that you use suitable language in your comments, and refrain from any sort of personal attack, hate speech, or disparaging rhetoric. Comments not in line with this are subject to removal from the site. "

More Posts
To Top